The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Austin Seven caravan
Scottish enthusiasts may well be familiar with the old camping trailer we tow behind our Ruby. In actual fact it's a caravan chassis with Austin seven hubs and wheels. I took advantage of a lull in customer orders over Christmas to begin work on a new body for it, the design of which I've been pondering for years.

The principles are minimal weight, minimal size, original 'scrapyard' fittings, and art deco styling. 

Don't expect it to be finished by the summer; my daughter pointed out that I have been talking about it for 10 years and only just started work!

It looked superb yesterday, but these photos suggest even more progress!

Cannot wait.
No more progress since your visit - it is in kit form at the moment as I really have nowhere to keep it once assembled!
That looks very interesting. Just for my curiosity, what are the overall dimensions? (or floor length and internal height)
Thumbs Down 
Great project, Peter.    About 20 years ago I had the same idea of building a 'tear-drop' caravan to tow behind an Austin 7.   I got a lot of information off the internet, mostly from the USA.   In the end I decided that I didn't have the space to store a caravan so I built the Pytchley instead.   To be honest I liked the idea of building a caravan rather than actually using it.
In my garage I have some fittings you are welcome to if you can use them.  I have a quantity of art-deco door pulls that  came out of an early post-war bungalow, also some pre-war vacuum flasks suitable for food.   Fortunately they do not contain any pre-war food!  I will post some photos later.