The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Silver soldering advice
I'm quite keen to learn some silver soldering techniques but there doesn't seem to be much on YouTube that's relevant to my needs. Does anyone have any advice on the type of torch, helpful suppliers of solder etc. and any other useful resources for a complete novice? I have an incomplete old brass radiator shell which will give me plenty of scope for mistakes.

Thanks in advance.

Peter.
I'm at the same stage, and have just assembled kit, with my first project being making a new head outlet from copper pipe and brass plate.

55% silver rods are lower temp than 30%, but more expensive.
Get some flux as well, (and you have option of fluxed rods so you wont need to dip the rod in each time)
I'm going to try using a camping gas cylinder type propane gun.
bricks and a bit of fake asbestos atop (or the other way round) as the items need to be red hot.

I was advised that it isn't hard, so will be interested in the replies you get here!
Hi Peter

I use a “Portapak” oxy/Mapp set.  I bought it from the Welders Warehouse but I think they are available from many suppliers.  I don’t think you’ll have that much success using just propane.

I also use fluxed rods as I had problems using flux paste, however the secret (if there is one) is to ensure everything is very clean!

Good luck

Cheers

Howard
have a look here.
https://www.cupalloys.co.uk/best-practic...g-tutorial