The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Austin 7 special foot pedal lack of space?
Hello everyone,
I’m new to the Austin 7 , just purchased a special with an interesting story, far as I  can tell ,it’s 1938 chassis with a modified 1934 engine and 4 speed gearbox.
The car has been on a serious set of adventures including route 66 in the US . 
Anyway, I’m guessing the chap that drove all those miles had small feet! 
I’m struggling to fit my size 10’s in the space available, it’s hard not to press the brake when pressing the 
throttle .
My question is: has anyone had experience of cutting and re welding the clutch and brake pedal on a 7 ?
the pedals look to be steel or wrought iron. I’m hoping to move the two pedals over towards the centre of the vehicle by a couple of inches each . Any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks.        
Hello Martin,

It looks as though your accelerator pedal might be too high compared to the brake pedal, it should be to the right of the brake when the brake is pressed, so you can rock your foot between the two to "heal and toe" successfully. The brake pedal is normally fully round (not cut off) and should just clear the column as it passes it. Presumably it has been chopped and moved to give more room to reach the accelerator. I would want pedal rubbers on (particularly the brake) to avoid slips.

A photo of the standard set up would help you but my car isn't here at present.

Your car must be well sorted to have completed route 66. You'll have a lot of fun I'm sure.
Here's a photo of the standard arrangement 
.jpg   footwell.jpg (Size: 37.41 KB / Downloads: 338)