The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dealer's wall clocks
I have a Smiths c1935/9 type wall clock with an "Austin" script on the face. It has come from France via Beaulieu and all the Austin "experts" who have seen it say it is genuine, and if it is not so, it's a VERY good fake. Have emailed The Archive asking for info on these clocks, as I have no knowledgeof them, but have not yet received any reply, so throw the request open to anyone who can assist in putting together info. on these clocks.

.jpg   Clock.1.JPG (Size: 635.84 KB / Downloads: 379)
Hi

Just a thought, would they have been made for the Austin Works? I could see these adorning office and workshop spaces in the day.

Cheers

Howard
Our apologies but your mail, via the webmaster, fell through a creck during the transition of the Archivist's role. I can confirm that we have nothing in the Archive (that I know of) that refers to these clocks. Certainly, yes, they are of a standard Smiths design (I even have one in my kitchen as I type this) so the idea of adding a simple branding to the face makes sense. Indeed, I have seen the same clock with an MG emblem on it, but also know that those to have been faked as well. In the MG world, memorabilia often had a greater value than other marques so would it have been worth faking one with the Austin logo? Perhaps, perhaps not. We will never know. Yours does seem to have a certain patina about it, so it could well be original...

Sorry not to be of more help...