The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Water temperature
Hi folks!

While browsing fotos of several Austin Sevens on the web I realized that most of the cars from 1932 onwards don't have a Boyce Motormeter on top of the radiator. But there is also no temperature gauge on the dashboard...  Huh

Question: How do you deal with not having control about the water temperature? Just let it boil when it's starts to or what?

Sorry, I'm still learning... Wink Thank you in advance.
I have a 1936 four seat open road tourer with no provision for a gauge. I have never found the need for one. Perhaps ignorance is bliss? It hasn't ever boiled on me, but I live in Essex... one of the flattest counties on this island of ours.
Hi Hurvinek

I don’t think any Seven was fitted with a temperature gauge (perhaps the Big Seven did?)

‘Boyce Motormeters’ were aftermarket accessories along with some other makes.  Replicas are available from the Cherished Suppliers.  However the originals and replicas are not very accurate.

I have a replica Motormeter on my RK and a small alcohol glass thermometer fitted into my radiator cap. I find it difficult to read either gauge and, in truth, they are there for show!

I don’t run with a fan belt unless the weather is very hot and have only had the water boil on one occasion when I was stuck in very slow moving traffic for over half an hour.

Unless the engine is badly clogged up I think the Seven is over cooled.

Cheers

Howard