The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New owner /special project
Good morning,

I've always had a interest in prewar cars and especially the small Austin. So after regularly searching the web, a couple of weeks ago I came across a 7 special project which had been dormant for decades. I've restored some cars in the past, but I'm totally new to 7's so I would appreciate any help and info on my journey to restoring this car.
This is what I bought =>

[Image: y4mqK0VEWmdxYaSAm2xmdUodm0vAVoKg4y9jbV5Q...pmode=none]
It has an altered steering arm => 
[Image: y4mHRqCz33f_1JXpB8-I3Arj7CGKhJod6QBHJ-Ir...pmode=none]
And the frame is altered too =>
[Image: y4meQQBzSiJdsYg4OLyIlJe_lJrZ7klmZdEm5ezD...pmode=none]
Also the steering bracket is a little bit special ..
[Image: y4mElRPVTyZVVtgn1vwD7cuDMa5zRl7eiqrIFq56...pmode=none]

It's a 1934 chassis with 17" wheels.

Now, after some reading and browsing this forum, I realize that the frame is already modified and I'm a bit unsure .. My goal would be to make a reliable car to enjoy motoring down country lanes with the looks of a Cambridge special.
So the structure that is on it right now is not something i'm thinking of using, or is it something special ? Is there anyone who recognizes the form and has a picture of what the previous owner was going for ?

What would the ride height be if i would restore the chassis as it is ? Any advise on what to do with the chassis adaptions would be really appreciated as I really want to move forward with this project !

Thank you, kindest regards,
Glenn (From Belgium)