The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gear crunch - 1st and 2nd
I’m new to Seven (but not classic car) ownership. I have a 1935 Ruby. 

I understand the requirement for double de-clutching to facilitate smooth gear changes and to try and change gear at the correct speed. 

I am generally able to get a smooth change up and down between 3 and 4. 

However from idle I struggle to engage 1st, 2nd and reverse no matter how many times I depress the clutch. More often than not there’s a crunch, but not always. It’s the same story going from 1st to 2nd (though it’s not as bad, I think I’ve figured the best speed and double de-clutch technique) and when going down from 3rd to 2nd (again not generally as bad as when the car is idling).

Any advice on what I could do to improve this would be appreciated. I’m not sure where to start.
There is no synchromesh on 1st gear so trying to engage it on the move is difficult. I just don't bother and always set off in 2nd unless the hill is steep. Some 4 speed boxes also didn't have synchromesh on 2nd gear, just on 3rd and top. Your car might have one of those fitted but the only way to be sure is to take the top off. Obviously if it is then you're always going to have to double up and down changes to and from 2nd. Engaging 1st or reverse is easier if the tick over speed is correct and there's no clutch drag.

Gearbox should contain engine oil not the thicker gearbox oil.