The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Death of special building in NZ
OK, this might turn into a long rant...

Most people will know I have been building my Austin 7 Special for the last 10 years. In that time I have been lucky to meet so many people who have taught me how to do things or helped me with information, advice and even parts so I could build a close to a period correct special as I could get. I am very thankful to all of them, some of whom aren't with us anymore. It's finally come time to try to get the car road registered so I can drive the thing. It's not 100% finished (are specials ever?) but it's ready to be driven.

Only it seems the entire system is set up to prevent that these days and I am almost at the point of saying why bother? Certainly I am thinking after I finish my Riley Brooklands replica, which it's looking like I can never register if built to be period correct (it will probably be an unregistered race car or sold overseas), what's the point in continuing to learn these skills if you can never use them. 

The main issue with my special is it has no paperwork. When I first started 10 years ago that wasn't so much of a problem. But in that time the rules have changed, several times it seems, and it's at the point now where it seems no one really knows what the rules are where vintage cars are concerned and no one can offer decent advice. Everything pushes you into the LVVTA certification route. In NZ that is a small group of people who inspect non standard cars and basically say if the car can be registered or not. Mainly things like hot rods, race cars and boy racer type mods. I was trying to avoid that path if possible.