The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
6 volt fuel pump
I'm thinking of fittingĀ  an electric fuel pump . I know that SU pumps are good bits of kit, but they are a bit large in the engine bay. Has anyone used a smaller modern pump, which could be tucked away out of site a bit more easily?
Thanks
Steve, I haven't used a small modern pump with a Seven but I have some experience, both first and second hand, of the modern Facet-type pump in other machines. If you use such a pump you will need to be aware of how much pressure it produces. If you are using an SU or other conventional carb. such as a Solex or Zenith I would hesitate to use a fuel pressure much over 1 or 1.5 psi. With the vast majority of the modern pumps I think you will need to use a pressure regulator as well to achieve this. You should be able to find a regulator that will go down to a low enough pressure but they are not all able to do this.

As you will have gathered from the first sentence, my preference is to use an SU pump with the sort of carburettor we favour, choosing an appropriate SU pump for its location.

Regards,

Stuart
Not knowing the model of car that Steve has, I cant make a specific suggestion. What I can offer though is a location that I used on an 'Ulsteroid' that I built some years ago where I mounted the SU pump underneath the rising floor under the passenger's feet. That worked well and was completely concealed..
Another thing to watch, If I remember correctly is that some electric pumps are mounted at the tank and and have more blow than suck (if you understand my use of technical terms) while others are mounted at the engine end and have more suck than blow!