The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Timing my ruby
Hi I wonder if some one could tell me if there is a way to remove the flywheel cover, as I have tried and it looks impossible. I am trying to set the timing ,I had to remove the distributor to replace a stud and I’m finding my ruby turning over a lot before starting, and having a bit of a lul or slow in taking the fuel,I though by advancing or retarding until I got the fastest idol,that seemed to help the throttle taking the fuel  had a bit of a flating  after excel-orating  or is there an easy way to set the timing accurately. Thankyou for any help in this also can you tell me In very simple terms as I am very new to working on cars so I don’t alway understand the tech terms,thanks
Hi, I hope this helps you as it is what I've been doing for many years now. Please accept my apologies if this is too simplistic in its approach but Isensed you're not too familiar with Austin 7's and their workings but have successfully managed to remove and replace the distributor already.
First of all remove the distributor from the dynamo.
Then remove number 1 spark plug (the one at the front).
Turn the engine on the handle with your thumb in the hole where the spark plug was until you feel some compression on your thumb (there may not be too much so you may need to repeat this bit a few times).
Once you know you're on compression, insert a longish implement into the spark plug hole so that it can rest on the piston.
Then, slowly turn the handle until the piston is at the top of its stroke - again you may need to repeat this a few times until you find the top.