The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Electronic fuel pumps
I see lots of (suspiciously) cheap new electronic fuel pumps offered on eBay, has anyone had experience using one with an Austin 7 engine?
I’m thinking fuel pressure, pump noise and overall reliability.
(I’m 12v pos earth).
Many thanks,
John.
Most (all?) modern cars are negative earth, and if you really mean electronic it is usually important to get the earth right. Sorry, I have no experience of such pumps. I do use an MGB pump (pressure type, not suck) on my Ulsteroid, and it has been reliable for 18 years.
Do you mean the small cube shaped pumps? The genuine ones are made by Facet (previously Bendix), and IIRC are available as a "low pressure" option suitable for use with SU etc. carbs; You need to choose the earthing to match what you have. Facet pumps do seem reliable but aren't especially cheap. The Chinese knock offs -which look absolutely identical and often sold as "Facet type" don't have a good reputation for reliability.

BTW, one thing with these pumps is that unlike an SU pump which only ticks when it's moving fuel, the Facet pumps tick all the time. Unlikely to be an issue with an A7 where there are plenty of other noises going on once the car is running. Using the optional rubber mounting kit is a worthwhile idea on quieter cars.

SU pumps are available with the Hall Effect option (it eliminates the pump's contact breakers which always seem to need cleaning at the most inconvenient time) in either positive or negative earth options.
Good morning all. I have just fitted an SU pump to a car I was recommissioning.