The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
Sump bolts
After removing the sump and cleaning out about a inch of gunge I'm refitting the sump with a silicon gasket , I've got all the bolts in bar 2 and they won't tighten they just spin,    what can I use that'd help ?
Some Helicoils or oversize bolts.
What size would you recommend R ? 
I think the bolts look standard !
This has everything you will need to do the job: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-4-BSW-V-Coi...xybLpRiSJ0
Thanks R, I'm new to that type of thing does it create a new thread or helps with the existing bolts ?
It repairs the thread back to what it should be.

See:https://youtu.be/RE4qVOoTDaU
I used the V Coil 1/4 BSW kit to do my sump bolts. The kit comes with the right drill, tap and the helicoils, and the tools to insert them and break off the tangs. They work very well!
Hi Morrisminor 

I’ve repaired several crankcase threads using Helicoil or Vcoil kits.  It’s a good idea to “glue” the insert into the hole with some thread locker (Loctite).
Cheers

Howard
It is a fairly easy, satisfying job.

You drill out the old threads, using the drill bit provided.   Don't forget to put it back in the box with the coils, it is an odd size.

Tap out the hole with the tap provided, you really should invest in a proper holder for the tap.

When tapping it is good practice to take a (say) half turn, then turn the tap back a little to cut the swarf so it doesn't build up and mess up the thread you are cutting.

Maybe remove the tap after a couple of turns and blow out the bits if you can, then carry on.