The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Car Trimming - a DIY approach
I have so far managed to tackle all jobs on the car, mechanical, Electrical and Paint, but i have never had a stab at trimming. The other day a vintage industrial Singer turned up for £75 so ive taken the plunge and now look to give it a try. 

Im looking for anyone who has advice, hints tips or links to books, videos etc for a total novice
Watching this thread with interest as I am in exactly the same position. I have a special so just a bench and two bottoms to make and would really like to have a go at it myself  Big Grin What could go wrong....
    I am in the middle of re-upholstering my RP saloon.This is a big job and requires A fair bit of patience.I also bought and industrial singer machine and have spent a good amount of time practicing before starting to cut material.I had all the original trim and have been able to use this To mark out replacement pieces.i have bought 8 metres of red vinyl and think it’s going to be enough to do the whole car.This is readily available from suppliers on eBay .I covered all door and side panels with 1/4 “ foam glued to the ply before covering with vinyl don’t glue the vinyl to the foam attach it at the back of the panel with staples or glue .i use utube for advice on sewing up covers etc.Good luck
Moi

It JThis is the drivers door panel as a work in progress.Its made up of 6pieces of trim .The door pocket is quite difficult to make as it’s gathered using elastic at the top. We je
.jpeg   4407B1A4-DA3F-4F7B-95AD-BF976642EE74.jpeg (Size: 79 KB / Downloads: 471)