The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lucas Lights
Is there a catalogue or listing available of the differing types of Lucas lights available in period?
I get confused between R40's, 510's 47's etc and the variants/differences of each type.
The nearest I've found online is a 1939 catalogue online but a definitive article or catalogue would be educational.
Good afternoon. I have been making and restoring Austin 7 lights since 1974 and spent the kid's inheritance on original Lucas documentation.

Headlamps.
1922 - c 1924      CAV bell shaped headlamps, 5"
1924 - 1928         Lucas R510 scuttle and for a brief period forward mounted 5" No pilot lamp.
1928 - 1931(2)    Lucas R47 6". R40's were never fitted to A7's.  Single filament bulbs. The first RN's were supplied with R47's fitted with Lucas - Graves dipping filament bulbs and reeded glass.     Pilot lamp fitted.
1931(2) - 1933    Lucas Type 35/32. The 32 referrs to the angle of offset to facilitate wing mounting. Reeded glass. Pilot lamp fitted.
1933 - 1934         Lucas  LB130. Flat Diffisa glass, N/S Dipping solenoid mechanism. O/S off when dipped, on when on main. Pilot fitted.
1934 - 1936         Lucas LB130. Curved Tear drop glass, dipping as above. No pilot
1936 - 1939         Lucas L131, and later 133, a more pointed shell with glass and dipping as above. No pilot.
Sports models had the same profile lamps but were verticall mounted.

Side lights
R510's were wired such that their single filament bulbs were in series 3v when on 'side' and parallel when on 'head' 6v.
1934 - 1935         Lucas LD 108. with a reeded effect glass. Twist on rim