The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Finishing a special.
Hi all, most people probably know I have been working on my special now for the last 9 years now. I have been making the most of lock down to try to get it done. Mainly since I want to drive the damn thing (we we are allowed out) and also because I am already starting to get distracted on my next project, a Riley 9.

This was all being documented on my blog which unfortunately suffered a server failure. Luckily a lot of it was on the Internet Archive so the mostly recovered site is again up here: http://www.asciimation.co.nz/austin7

Ian has been suggesting I post some progress here. This is the car as of this morning. It is running and drive-able, it's just finishing off details now.

[Image: special_5May2020.jpg]

The rear guards and panels were finished up a week or so ago. The fronts still need to be hammered smooth and attached properly and I am still pondering what valancing will be done there. I have just been rebuilding the exhaust to run under the car so it is much cleaner. I spent yesterday afternoon making a Brooklands fishtail for it. Getting the pipe is proving a bit tricky in lockdown though.

Instead of blogging I have instead been making little films and putting them on YouTube instead: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJqzEbh...j3Hrv2mPZA

Once the front guards are done I need to sort out a screen. Originally I was thinking Brooklands screens but the car is quite chunky so something a bit bigger is probably best to balance it out. Ian suggested a fabricated screen and I think that will work well.