The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A7 lumps in cylinder bores
Hi
I am new to Austin 7s and this forum, looking for some guidance.
Finally stripped down the old engine (not run for at least 20 years) It was not seized and turned over relatively ok but a slight tight spot could be felt.
Does anybody have any ideas as to how the bores can have raise lumps in them? They are 0.060” oversized bores. The marks look like impact damage from outside the cylinder bore but you can't get to the areas where they are. Please see photos.
I have 3 noticeable raised areas, one in each bore in No. 1 3 & 4. They are about 1/4" in diameter. Could it be water / freeze damage before I acquired the car, they are all around 2.75 inches from the top of the block. The lower end of the water jacket is around 3" its the only thing I can think of.

I am not sure how thick the material is in this cylinder area and if these lumps could these be honed off as the rest of the bores look ok ?  I guess they are only around a few thou raised.
No.4 piston has slight damage where the lump is but No.1 and No.3 do not.

Please see photos.
Any advice would be helpful and appreciated.

Thanks

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Can't tell too much from your photos, sorry.
Are these lumps on the valve chest side of the block? I've seen distorted bores on the other side where chaps have been over-enthusiastic with water manifold bolts, but there are only 2 of those.
Roger is almost certainly right,
You will need to resleeve if now any way.
hi,

your first picture shows the corrosion in the waterways.

is this were the bulges are.

if so we are looking at the bulges being the bores getting thinner.