The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rose joints
Good morning
Im relatively new to Austin 7`s but not to car restoration. I have a Triumph Roadster 1949 and having supported a friend in the PWA7 club I decided to buy a 7, so have  a 1939 PD Tourer

Working on the Draglink and find the tube badly worn. Are there Rose joint alternatives available or is it a case of making a new tube
Thanks

Also a friend wants a Ruby chassis
I suppose you could use rose joints, but I’d think carefully if it’s for a road car. The standard drag link has springs to give it some compliance. Road shocks and rose joints don’t go well together.
Alan Fairless
(12-04-2020, 12:04 PM)Alan Wrote: I suppose you could use rose joints, but I’d think carefully if it’s for a road car. The standard drag link has springs to give it some compliance.  Road shocks and rose joints don’t go well together.

Hi Alan

Interested in your comment about road shocks.  Any chance you could elaborate?  I’ve seen many kit car double wishbone systems that use rose joints and I guess they would be subject to as much, if not more, shocks.

Cheers

Howard
I’m sure there are, Howard, and maybe they survive for a while, all I’m saying, as a car chassis designer, I wouldn’t do it.
Alan Fairless
The racing lads use the with no problems as far as I know?
My problem I ask questions that other people don't like?
Like have you got that for an investment or for fun?
Thanks Alan

I wouldn’t do it because they don’t look “period”!

Cheers

Howard