The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Kid on the Block
Photo 

After posting in Groaner's Corner, (which would probably be the appropriate place for me!) and following Timothy P's advice, I shall introduce myself.

I am David Stepney and live in Bala. After not owning a Seven for about 35 years, I have bought myself a 1933 RP saloon to replace my Porsche 944 which was (a) becoming eye-wateringly expensive to maintain and (b) I could no longer get into and out of it with any dignity.

The reason why I bought my Seven is rather an odd coincidence, so I shall start at the beginning.

When dinosaurs roamed Cardiganshire (in the 60's) and I was an apprentice motor mechanic, I bought a fairly disreputable RP saloon the registration number of which was TH4219 which conveyed me to and from college for about two years until I fell in love with an equally disreputable Daimler Conquest. I sold the Seven to a friend of mine who was a body repair lad who said he wanted to restore it and that was that.

I had kept a lot of spares including a 'high' chassis and in about 1979/80, built myself a special which I then sold in '83/84 to buy a Riley Adelphi.

About two years ago, I was doing a bit of shopping one summer evening in Bala when I saw an Austin 7 parked outside the Coop, so I went to have a look. Imagine my surprise to see that it was TH4219 looking very much better that the last time I had seen it. I didn't get to speak to the owner, but it set me thinking about another Austin Seven.And now I have got one.