The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Heat pumps
I know that there’s a lot of common sense and knowledge on this forum.
So I hope you will excuse this topic
Considering having a heat pump installed for our bungalow heating and hot water.
The company I am considering is Greener Living.
Any comments appreciated.
One of the attractions is the possibility of a grant of £7500
I'm not an expert but from what I hear...

You will need bigger radiators or underfloor heating. The heat pump produced cooler hot water.

You will use a lot of electricity powering the pump so it really works best in conjunction with solar panels to produce your own electricity.

in the coldest weather you might need an additional form of heat as well. Maybe electric heaters or a log burner.
From what I've read, the price of electricity to run the pump is three times that of gas for the same energy output. You'll also need a very well-insulated house, controlled ventilation, solar panels and a host of other things to consider.
I can't see any advantage at all in replacing a perfectly functional gas boiler with a heat pump. If you're on a south-facing slope in the South of England, in a new-build house with the highest standard of insulation possible - it might work. Perhaps.
In addition, if your house is all-electric and there's a lengthy power cut, with a small petrol generator the gas central heating can be maintained. Of course, one could always sit in one's car with the engine running and dinner cooking on the exhaust - unless your car's electric, in which case you'll freeze.
...unless your car's electric, in which case you'll freeze.