The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Sevens in Australia

Just received this lovely shot from Tim Braby showing a recent visit to Mount Morgan, Central Queensland.
     Austin at Stathalbyn SA
Intriguing photos. Open cars certaintly seem popular in Oz
The sation not St Panceas (which pile of bricks mighjtily impressed me) but it is quite ornate and well presrved. I am not an expert on extreme lens but just what shape is the station? I presume it is a terminus.
Poms may be interested to note that verandahs were normal on all shops. Also on houses, not just for shade but to enable outdoor work clothes to be dried.

.jpg   IMG_0277.jpg (Size: 129.24 KB / Downloads: 433)
.jpg   IMG_1329.JPG (Size: 212.21 KB / Downloads: 432)    Andrew Dawes at Murray Town . Also Austins at Murtoa Victoria
The corrugated iron is another down under feature. My grndfather emmigrated here about 1912 and was disgusted by th iron roofs. During the Depression they dis a lot of patching which he called fowl house plumbing. In dry areas some roofs lasted over 100 years.
Corrugated iron roofs are probably OK in a lot of Australia with low rainfall, I had a memorable stay in camp in Tanzania in the wet season and the racket the rain made on the roof was unbelievable.
...and ingenious use of a Castrol sign on Andrew's Seven.