The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Seat belts in a Tourer?
Is the Brockbank cartoon chap wondering whether he should buy a Bedelia rather than a Seven?
Inclined to agree with the general feeling on seat belts in any A7 even though I have been known to refuse to drive away when I have had passengers in Moderns say they will not wear them.
When I rebuilt my 1967 Lotus Elan Coupe which legally had to have seat belts, I did not fancy being strapped into its delicate fibreglass shell and had a full roll cage with side bars etc to which the seat belts were mounted.
Funnily I have never felt too worried about the Austin, but then I have been driving it since 1972 so perhaps familiarity breeds contempt?
I ride motorcycles, mainly in the warmer months now and on my first few rides in the Spring after months without riding I get on my motorbike and feel I should be putting a seatbelt on!
I feel very exposed for a few miles and then familiarity kicks in again thankfully..
It sure must need nerve to ride a motocycle. I get up to 50kph downhill briefly on my bike most days and feel very exposed. Anything that moves or might within a huge radius seems a threat.
On closed cars some retainer for the door seems advisable. Especially as we age injuries such as falling slowly out of a car in a rounadabout or intersection collision or shunt can be very serious.