The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pressure fed 3 bearing cranks
I’m new to cars so go easy 
While waiting for a load of bits to turn up for my special I started work on my new engine. I got a nice crank case from forumn a member (cheers !) and set about making a new crank. Having drawin it all up on the computer and ordered my material I just wanted to work out how to route the oil to the big ends. Would it Be best to go all through the nose ? All through the centre bearing or abit of both. Well abit of both  is what’s I went for. To test the oiling system ive modified an old crank. Don’t worry I don’t plan on using this. There’s so much knowledge on here so I thought id get the ball rolling. My new crank has larger bearings and thicker Webs. To test it’s fit In the case I’m just 3d printing a life size model. Im sure a lot of you clever people are wondering why I don’t mod the case and fit a new 2brg crank. Well... my wallet and wheres the fun in that. Thanks so much to dave dye and Chris for the help. (The crank case has been line bored & stiffened.            
I plan to blank the ends of the holes and set it up in a case. To test what kind of flow rate pump I will need and what size I should drill the oil ways in my new crank. (The poor drawing shows the drilling)
Hi Jacob.
Austin fed the centre main bearing on the three bearing pressure fed engine.
The crankcase already has the feed set up for it.
The flow will be more even from the centre of the crank.
A Dave Dye oil pump should be suitable and fit the case with minimal alteration.
I am running 60 psi in a two bearing engine. I suspect with centre feed you will not need such high pressure.