The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
More strange charging symptoms
Thumbs Down 
I've had multiple issues with my big seven charging, when switched on the ignition light glows happily, reads just barely bellow zero amps when running and the light stays on until the engine is revved and then goes out, my ammeter registers a charge, however when the revs go back down to idle the ignition light stays off and the ammeter dips to a discharge of around 5-10 amps??

Rather confused, this cars electrics are throwing up one thing after another haha.
Hi

I’m no electrics expert but the behaviour doesn’t sound too far from normal.  I think the warning lamp is not directly on the charging circuit so will display different characteristics to the ammeter.  My worry would be the 10 amps discharge at tickover With only the coil taking current you should have about 2 to 4 amps discharge. Any more and something else is connected up.

Cheers

Howard
The ammeter going into discharge at tickover is usually caused by the cut out contact sticking shut with the result that battery current is flowing into the dynamo. I would make sure that the earth connection is good on your regulator, as the reversal of current flow should cause the cut out to release.
Could a fault in the dynamo itself also cause the light to stay extinguished? I have quite similar symptoms now! I've checked 'earth' to ignition light (to PLC switch) but am getting same high discharge and no light when ignition turned on. Light was operating fine initially and discharge nothing to speak of when ignition turrned on.