The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fixed itself...
I've had my little RN saloon for about 4 months now and as I'm new to Austin 7s I'm not sufficiently experienced in their ways to know if its working properly or not.  Having read numerous threads on the forum I have concluded that the performance seems to be about right and the refinement (or lack of it) also seems to be about right.  It's reliable and cruises at about 35mph on the flat without appearing too stressed.

I had to move the car to another location yesterday and back today and it feels different..  Better.  It's suddenly smoother and I'm sure its a bit quieter, but why?  I am used to old cars and my first assumption was that something must have fallen off or become detached from something, but it all seems intact.  Whilst it now feels better I'm always wary of changes that happen unexpectedly on machinery so I'm a bit baffled.  The change isn't massive, but it is a change and the only thing I can think is that these last 2 trips are the first ones I've taken in the car when it's been cold and wet.  Engines probably prefer nice cold dense air but would that make a noticeable difference to the running of a standard Austin 7?

Any thoughts or suggestions (or ridicule) appreciated.

Steve.
Advance / retard changed on the column, If things were getting worse, I would check points starting to burn - clean them up, try a new condenser .
My RN (Standard carb etc etc..) takes about 20-30 minutes of road run before it gives you full power, and you notice that more when you are 2 up.