The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rear springs
Hi I am very new to the Austin ruby world, so I was wondering if anyone could advise me my ruby is sitting about an inch lower on the drivers side at the back some said it looks like a week spring, could this be right and where could I find a rear spring, do I need to replace the two at the same time. thanks for any advice
Normally, it's false economy to replace one spring, the replacement will have different characteristics to the original and may upset the handling.
You can try Vintage Austin Services (Ian Dunford) for replacements but it may be advisable to do a few quick checks first:

Are the rear spring "U" bolts still in one piece?
Is there a gap between the bottom of the spring and the chassis, indicating loose fittings?
Is there any tightness in the rear dampers, causing one side of the car to "hold down" ?
Are the springs visibly worn?
Are the springs of different types, indicating that, perhaps a previous owner has replaced just one?

If these points still leave you "leaning", a pair of replacement springs may be your best option but I warn you, they can be extremely difficult to dislodge from the chassis after all these years!
Thank you for your time and help this a lot to check before I start replacing p.s is it a common thing to have to change a spring or springs if they are not broken.
Check the shock absorbers first, it could just be loose or worn discs.
(22-06-2020, 12:35 PM)rwilliamson36 Wrote: Thank you for your time and help this a lot to check before I start replacing p.s is it a common thing to have to change a spring or springs if they are not broken.