The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Which Cable for Battery Leads
Hi Howard,

I'm sure you're correct in saying that 180amp is probably the largest size of armoured cable available. If The Seven Workshop recommend it then it must be fine - I wouldn't want to disagree as I'm no electrical expert. My suggestion was based on the cable spec recommended for use on my 1936 Morris 8 Tourer which is also 6v. I was intending using the same 300amp spec on my 1934 Austin 7 AVH Van - that's if I ever get round to sourcing the missing parts and to begin reassembling it.

Cheers,
Jeff.
Hi Jeff

I’m no electrician either.  It may be that the Morris starter is higher powered and therefore draws more current.  

Good luck with the build!

Cheers

Howard
Having rewired our narrow boat a few years ago I am sure this conundrum is all about voltage drop (if we have any sort of technical issue my wife now states brightly "It's probably voltage drop!". Current and cable run are critical with a low voltage system. Bigger section cable will enable a less than pristine battery to do the business. Bear in mind that it is the volume of copper between A and B that matters, so cutting back a fat cable to make it fit the terminals is not wasted effort, but routing it may be problematic.

Thinking further, the cable runs on a Seven are so short, I doubt voltage drop really matters. I would just take the current draw for your starter and multiply by 1.5 to specify the battery cable.