The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
ignition switch
Sorry about all these silly questions but i'm new to this....

My ignition switch is a bit dodgy you have to push it in before it will turn the car on and sometimes that doesn't work, so I am going to put a switch on can someone tell me how to wire it up.

Thanks Andrew
Wiring diagrams on Dorset A7 Club and Cornwall A7 Club sites.
A word of warning - if it's a Lucas switch and it's your intention of taking it apart, then do it under a cloth or in a large plastic bag so that you don't lose any bits... that's the easy bit - putting it back together is the difficult part.

I got round it by by-passing the ignition switch part and use a hidden switch under the dash to turn the current on. Run a wire direct from the battery via the switch to the SW terminal on the coil (or to where that wire is connected on the junction block). If your car is -ve earth that means from the + terminal on the battery to the + terminal on the ignition coil (the one that goes to the distributor). If you've done it right the ignition light should come on twhen you close the switch.
Can't a switch be fitted using the wires from the original switch ???
hi andrew.

the spade key for the ignision is like the pitch on a roof, when turned the chrome centre it goes in will pust the key in.

so you should "push and turn" the key at the same time.

once the chrome piece is worn, the key doesnt push down. 

it will still turn the ignision on, but only for so long.

when you open the switch, you will see the oblong plate that operates the on / off has rung off in its centre. were the end of the key mechanismn entres it.