The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice please- 16 year old and an A7 bitsa
I started to build the Ulster (I still have) aged 15 - the beauty of this model is that it is easy to restore once you have a body, all the parts required are easily purchased or made and it was road legal in time for my 17th birthday.

I started to build my first Cup Model aged 40 - almost all the parts for this model, from the chassis up, are unique. Some are made but many are not, to do a proper job of it is time consuming and expensive. I am hoping to finish this car in time for my 47th birthday!

As a student I drove an RN saloon - quite different from the Ulster, but just as lovely and perfect for me throughout that time.

My point is, that to keep my interest and start me off I needed something that I could drive when my licence arrived - had I not completed the car I think I might have got more into my 850cc mini van and possible the Corsair 2000E my grandfather had given me.

Perhaps an interested and savvy grandfather could sponsor the purchase of something more complete that required a smaller amount of work - this would allow the grandson get on the road and enjoy driving it sooner? This move would almost certainly lead to the purchase of a second "project" which could be built up over a longer period of time, perhaps a more obscure or rarer model?

Don't be put off by the "not another Ulster" brigade, many of them cut their teeth on such cars and, as previously mentioned, they are popular for a reason having gotten many a foot into the door of driving Sevens for life.