The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Exhaust "popping" on overrun?
HI Joe,
Regarding setting Electronic distributor, What make is the one you have as they should not be any more difficult to set than Points.

Cheers
Colin
NZ
Hi Colin,
I think the unit is an Accuspark one.
It isn't so much that the timing is difficult to set on the electronic unit as I have become reasonably proficient at setting it by ear, but once set to prevent pinking , I think the static timing becomes very retarded.
I am no expert but there is certainly a big difference between my two units.

Looking at the centrifugal weights on both the electronic and standard distributer and moving the points cam by hand to simulate advance, the standard DK4a takes a lot more effort to move to the fully advanced position than the electronic unit so I am assuming that the advance will be quicker ?

Thanks to all for the help
Joe.
In the hills of West Yorkshire.
Other way around Joe, the more resistance it puts up the slower it will reach full advance.

if you have a DK4A which is hard to advance it is either gummed up with muck or you have a rare good one! Most of them have tired springs which don't put up much resistance, thus they advance too quickly.

Of course the rate of advance and the total amount of advance are two quite different things...