The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with Magneto
Finally completed the Seven Special 1927 6v rewire, amazingly everything works, well almost.
After standing for a couple of months she refuses to start.
Turns over well but will not run, however when I wired the new magneto fly lead and tightened the securing nut the cover rotated slightly. I'm no magneto expert but I'm assuming this has either advanced or retarded the timing? Nothing else was touched on the magneto and it was not removed, does anybody suspect this as my problem?
I did rotate the cover slightly and She would idle (very low revs) but as soon as I engaged the throttle she stalled. 
Manufacturer B T H?

Many thanks
(19-12-2018, 10:27 PM)Paul Nott Wrote: Finally completed the Seven Special 1927 6v rewire, amazingly everything works, well almost.
After standing for a couple of months she refuses to start.
Turns over well but will not run, however when I wired the new magneto fly lead and tightened the securing nut the cover rotated slightly. I'm no magneto expert but I'm assuming this has either advanced or retarded the timing? Nothing else was touched on the magneto and it was not removed, does anybody suspect this as my problem?
I did rotate the cover slightly and She would idle (very low revs) but as soon as I engaged the throttle she stalled. 
Manufacturer B T H?

Many thanks

It may have altered the timing slightly, but only within the limitations imposed by the stops on the camring, in other words you will be somewhere between full advance and full retard, presumably you have the linkage connected up to the steering column controls.