The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Deep finned aluminium sump
Does fitting a deep finned aluminium sump impede the fitting of a Opal engine ( is it inclined to catch up whilst fitting the engine) .
Can engine and gearbox be fitted in one piece with deep sump attached.
Thanks for your support.
I am always interested in any information about Rosengart details or current owners.
Yes Derek you can do that with both the Nippy type and the slimmer Speedex/Dante type. The newer ones are slimmer again so should be OK but I've no personal experience of them. While an engine does come out and go back in, it can be more of a tussle with the extra dimensions compared to a tin sump. Coming out is the easiest of the two directions; lift the front of the engine until the sump clears the nosepiece and then slide it forward. Keep sliding until the gearbox clears the bulkhead and then get it to horizontal sitting on the nosepiece - then howk it out. Back in is more tricky. Tie a rope on the gearbox tail flange and have someone pulling on it. The engine and gearbox end up at about 30 degrees from horizontal to clear the bulkhead and the rope has to pulled hard to lift the rear until the sump drops behind the nosepiece.

Dave