Austinsevenfriends
Rear Axle Tramp in reverse - Printable Version

+- Austinsevenfriends (https://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum)
+-- Forum: Austin Seven Friends Forum (https://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Forum chat... (https://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=14)
+--- Thread: Rear Axle Tramp in reverse (/showthread.php?tid=9194)

Rear Axle Tramp in reverse - timbigden@icloud.com - 25-02-2024

Hi all, I’m new to the A7 gang having purchased my 1933 PD about a month ago, so sorry if this has been covered before.
The car judders (tramps) violently when reversing, especially if turning at the same time. I’ve been told that it’s a characteristic of A7s but I’ve not seen any as bad as mine.
Having read some guidance on the Cornish club forum I suspected the flange on the end of the pinion being loose, but having removed the prop shaft, it isnt loose. The hardy Spicer joint is good, and the attachment of the front of the torque tube to the chassis is firm.
Any wisdom would be appreciated.
T

RE: Rear Axle Tramp in reverse - Howard Wright - 25-02-2024

Hi Tim

Welcome to the world of Austin Sevens.

The symptoms you describe are normally associated with the Torque tube being loose.
If you get hold of either the prop shaft or torque tube and push hard upwards there should be no discernible movement.

If there is, two things could be amiss, firstly the castellated adjusting nut may need tightening and secondly the clamping sphere at the bottom of the torque tube bracket is loose.

Unfortunately it is often difficult to tighten the castellated nut on the torque tube without causing the large ball joint on the end of the torque tube from snagging (this is often worn in a non concentric way). Also the wear on the ball might be such that the nut has reached the end of its thread. I’ve taken up to a 1/16” off the surface of the bracket to allow the nut to tighten more.