The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Carb help
Photo 
Hi all,
Newbie here. Learning fast.

Lots of problems with carb leaking fuel. Travels 4-5 miles then floods.
Checked previous forum and I have:

1. Inspected float. Its perfect. No leaks.
2. Replaced inlet needle valve. Both old and new ones working perfectly.
3. Thoroughly cleaned all jets multiple times.

Travel a few miles - sounds good, then engine floods. Stop and petrol dripping from carb.
I have done this about 10 times. Clean carb by roadside and all works again. I'm quite adept at this now  Sad

Latest thought:

Seems to be something missing from this hole (see pic below). In one technical note that I found online it seems to say that there should be a "Screw over Capacity Well". In another explosion of all the parts, there seems to be 2 bits called "Progression jet and plug".

I don't seem to have anything in there and from experimentation when I drip petrol into that hole it seeps up through the main jet and fills bowl, which all concurs with the diagnosis above.

So my question to the experts here is what do I need to do, get, buy, steal ? 

Many thanks,

Richard

.jpg   carbtop.jpg (Size: 81.1 KB / Downloads: 533)
It's definitely missing something, and I'm sure that's the cause of your problems. There should be a brass insert in the "compensating well". I've only taken them out once in a blue moon but If memory serves it's a long brass tube, from the top it looks similar to the rest of the jets. There are a couple of suppliers for parts, but I don't know how easy it'll be to track down. I just googled "zenith carb jets" and came up with a few suggestions, including "zenithcarb.co.uk".