The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Anyone seen one like this?
Could anybody shed any light on this body number?

AK 29, taken from the transmission tunnel...

I'm pretty new to this Austin 7 lark, but the reading-up I have done doesn't show this as a body type anywhere in the records or resources on the subject.

Car it's off is an AH Tourer (apparently) from 1932, that spent a fair length of time in Gibraltar and has only recently come back to the UK. I was expecting it to read AH something....

All input welcome...

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Here is an AAK tourer:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/austin7nut/4289785863/
Would that have an AK stamp and not AAK?
It would have AAK, I would have thought..

AAK is the nearest body designation number I know to that which you have stamped on your propshaft tunnel...
Once again we see that relying on these body codes as a means of identification is potentially flawed. As far as I am aware the AK prefix does not appear in any Austin records, but here we have an example, so they clearly exist(ed). Presumably the AH series ran out of numbers, so the factory continued with the AK series - probably without official sanction, only to be swiftly replaced by the Ruby-fronted AAK and equally swiftly forgotten!
Yes, true, Mike. The more I look into this, the more it seems to be true that it was all rather haphazard...