The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Zenith carb - ideas please
I am stripping my Zenith 30VEI and the pin which provides the pivot for the lever connecting the strangler lever to the throttle via a rod is very badly worn, so I want to replace it.

I am assuming it is a straight press fit item so intend cutting it off 2mm proud of the carb body and drilling it out. 

For obvious reasons I am very nervous of doing any damage to the carb body, so would appreciate an expert opinion about my proposed course of action.

The pin I'm talking about is the one next to the screw driver in the pic.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

I'm no expert but my opinion is leave it along unless it doesn't work.
And don't use heat - one thing I do know is the alloys they used have a low melting point.
Colin

My view is leave it - a bit of wear at this point is of no real consequence.
Many thanks. Saves me a job!
I have in a different situation made a sleeve of thin metal ( ie from a tin) and slid it in to produce a firmer fit. Allthough a piece of brass would probably be better.
Ian
(03-11-2018, 05:48 PM)Viteran Wrote: I have in a different situation made a sleeve of thin metal ( ie from a tin) and slid it in to produce a firmer fit. Allthough a piece of brass would probably be better.
Ian