The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
removing pistons
I am in the process of removing the pistons on my 750cc engine ( I have been a mechanic for 65 plus years and stripped & rebuilt loads of engines car, lorry & plant but never seen a engine like the 750cc ) its my first experience of this engine, at the bottom of the piston liner there is a metal piece that only lets the conrod push through in a certain position what is this metal for, what does it do, its like a extension of the liner.

thanks rubyman
Do you mean the oil splash guards - coffee tin lid with a slot in it ?
You will need to separate the block from the crankcase, remove piston / rod and oil baffle from the block base,
remove little end pinch bolts drive out gudgeon pins, oil baffles can be removed over the little end.
The rods will not pass up the bore.
You might find the oil baffles have been butchered in the past either by cutting them or forcing then open enough for the big end to pass through.

Either undo the block base then lift block off leaving rods / pistons on crankshaft, 
Or undo big ends and lift the block off complete with pistons and rods.
(17-06-2018, 05:55 PM)dickie65 Wrote: You will need to separate the block from the crankcase, remove piston / rod and oil baffle from the block base,
remove little end pinch bolts drive out gudgeon pins, oil baffles can be removed over the little end.
You might find the oil baffles have been butchered in the past either by cutting them or forcing then open enough for the big end to pass through.

Either undo the block base then lift block off leaving rods / pistons on crankshaft,