The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.28 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
12v electronic regulator
Hi all,
Before I go any further, I must add that I am not an electrician! However, I have almost finished a complete restoration of my Gordon England Cup (started 5 years ago). I have just finished the re-wiring, using armoured cable at great expense (!). During the restoration the dynamo and voltage regulator went away to be refurbished (I can't remember the guy's name, but I believe he's well known) The dynamo was fitted with a new armature and was converted to 12 volts, it also now has an electronic regulator.
My question is; when I turn the ignition on (coil engine) the amp meter shows maximum charge without the engine running. What, if anything have I done wrong?
(20-08-2017, 05:20 PM)John Tindle Wrote: Hi all,
Before I go any further, I must add that I am not an electrician! However, I have almost finished a complete restoration of my Gordon England Cup (started 5 years ago). I have just finished the re-wiring, using armoured cable at great expense (!). During the restoration the dynamo and voltage regulator went away to be refurbished (I can't remember the guy's name, but I believe he's well known) The dynamo was fitted with a new armature and was converted to 12 volts, it also now has an electronic regulator.
My question is; when I turn the ignition on (coil engine) the amp meter shows maximum charge without the engine running. What, if anything have I done wrong?

Hi John,
Most of our experience of electrical systems has come by sorting these sorts of problems out, you pick things up quickly that way!